Saturday, September 11, 2010

Starting a New School Year

School started about a month ago, and I've been so busy I haven't had time to post. It says my last post was on July 1st, which means I have to back clear up and talk about my trip to Mexico. It was AMAZING! I went to a Children's Home called La Casa De La Esperanza. It's so awesome! I encourage everyone to visit this place at least once in their life. I'm thinking I'm going to be a frequent visitor, though, as frequent as I can be. I fell in love with a girl named Claudia, and I am now sponsoring her. That means I contribute an amount of money every month to go toward her care, and as part of that, I also get to write her letters and send her birthday and Christmas presents. It's really amazing. I'm hoping she will be able to write me back, although I haven't asked the director of the home about that yet, so I'm not completely sure. I'm going to send him a message on facebook today and ask. I want to ask about writing me letters and I also want to ask about an acceptable Christmas present. They don't get Christmas presents, they give them to people in their community. I think this is great, but I would also like to send her something for Christmas. I'm thinking a Grinnell Tigers hoodie with her name on the back of it and a Build-A-Bear!!! I think she'd love it!! Anyway, I've been really excited about that. And now school has started. I'm in Student Council, FCA, and marching band. I really love FCA, and Mr Jorth is my chemistry teacher, and he also directs FCA. It's really cool how much you learn about the life of a teacher just by what activities they sponsor in school. I didn't have time to do debate this year, because I'm working at both Fly High and Taco Johns, and I'm starting to get a lot of hours at both of them, so I stay really busy. Life is good. Sometimes stressful, but it's still good. I had my gall bladder removed last week. It was a pretty effortless procedure, on my part anyway, and everything went fine. It was outpatient, which was nice. I'm still kind of recovering, which is discouraging. I'm ready to be back to normal already :D Oh well. I'll get there. In the mean time, I'm thinking about starting another blog. Not sure what I'm gonna call it yet, but it's going to be a writing blog. My whole life I've aspired to be a writer, on the side of whatever other profession I pick up. So I'm thinking that if I start a blog, and get some ideas flowing, maybe I can actually write a book at some point. That would be really cool!! I'm at the library and my sisters are bothering me to go home, so I'll try to do another post soon. I'll post the URL to my other blog once I start it.

More later,
~KYlee

Thursday, July 1, 2010

SUmmer Drama

It has been so long since I posted that I forgot my address to even access my blog. This once a week thing hasn't been going very well as of late, but this is supposed to be for me anyway, so I'm not focusing too much on when or what I write. The last two weeks have been pretty bad. Just lots of family stuff going on. First my mom and dad got into a fight (which I managed to get away from by escaping to my grandma's house for 4 days), and now my dad and stepmom are fighting. They do that sometimes but this time it seems to be particularly bad, so I'm worried. I want my dad to come to church with me. I know he doesn't believe in that stuff, at least as of right now, but I also think he would benefit from it. At least having an open mind to it could benefit him. So I'm hoping and praying. I turn 16 on Sunday. Friday I'm going out with a couple of friends for either pizza or mexican; we haven't decided yet. Saturday I was going to stay the night with another one of my best friends in the entire world, but that got changed because of her parents' work schedules. Now she's staying at my house next wednesday. On Sunday we're going to church (per my request), and then having a small family bbq with cake and ice cream and a sprinkler. Sounds kind of childish but it works for me. I'm having my bestest (Yeah I know, I have a lot of best friends... I can't choose just one!) friend Tiffany, from New Sharon, over and we're going to have lunch and play in the sprinkler and sing happy birthday and all that jazz and then she's going to come to the fireworks with me on Sunday night. I can't wait. I'm so excited. The last couple of days I have truly realized that I don't need a huge party to feel blessed. I have great friends that love me and that's all that I need.

More another time, hopefully when things are looking a little better. :)

~KyLeE

Sunday, May 16, 2010

Summer's on it's way

Okay, in my defense, I tried to post awhile back and something happened and it didn't end up on here. SO anyway, it's been awhile. It'll be easier to post more this summer, but I'm still doing better than I have in the past. I'm so excited for this summer. We have like 12 or so days of school left!!! Woo hoo! I'm babysitting all summer except for the 9ish days I'm gone on my mission's trip to Mexico. We had our first prep meeting today and now I'm even more really excited than I was!!!!!!! I'm also really excited about all the friends I'm making at this new church. I'm not just making friends, I'm meeting a lot of people that I can confide in and that can help me grow spiritually. I LOVE IT!!! I'm really hoping I can get back on track with my bible study before I go and start living for Christ for real. yeah, I know I've said this before, but I have plenty of people at my church that I know will help me if I need it. I just really don't think I can go to the Casa (my mission's trip this summer) and share God with these kids if I'm not living for HIM every day of my life. That's what I need to do. Plus the kids at the Casa will be more receptive than some of the other people I will have a chance to minister to. They'll be good practice :)

Anyway, school gets out June 1st. Tennis is over. I'm sad, because it was a blast! We're having our banquet sometime soon, but I dont know when. that's about all thats new in my neighborhood. Sometime this week I'll try to sit down and do a more in depth entry maybe.
~Kylee

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Haven't been on in awhile

I guess I sort of forgot about my blog. However, since I have 3 followers (thanks everyone for reading!!!!) I'm going to try very hard to keep this up to date. School is going well. 3rd tri is a lot easier than 2nd. I think it's because I don't have American History. And I'm in art foundations which is a lot of fun. Most people can't stand the teacher, but I like to think I'm really good at liking a teacher no matter what other people say. I usually try to at least make my time in their class bearable. And I do really like this teacher. Anyway. We're attending a church in Marshalltown, which I think I might have talked about. I really love it. I can't believe how at home I feel there. I've made friends. I love it!! There's a guy there that I like (it's hard to come by an incredibly good looking man with a great personality who is also a christian), but sadly, he's taken. It doesn't surprise me. I think I'll just focus on being his friend. I like the idea of having a guy friend. And then there's Rachel. She's amazing. She bought me a hot chocolate the first day I wandered down into the youth area for our connecting time. She's just really awesome. Anyway, so church is good. In the fall when I have my license, I'm going to join their youth group called ACTIVATE. And I'm going to Mexico with the youth group this summer. I'm REALLY excited. I can't wait! We are going to be working with an orphanage there and doing building/maintenance projects for them AND playing with the kids. I LOVE kids! When I was in Mexico last time I really felt like God put me down there to be with the kids and to love them. It was really rewarding. The only other major things that have happened in my life since my last post were my mom getting married and me starting tennis. My mom's wedding was beautiful. I cried!! It was really simple but beautiful and we were all surrounded by lots of friends and family. It was awesome!! And so far everything is good! Praise the Lord!!! I've also started tennis. It's really fun. I'm not going to be the next Venus Williams but I'm having fun with it and I really enjoy being part of a team. The captains are really good at making me feel really good, and like I'm really an important part of the team. It's great!!

Okay, I'm done now. This is an incredibly long post. I'm going to try to post once a week like I originally said so stay tuned!!!

~Kylee

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Going CRAZY!

Okay, this is my major thought for today: There's a guy. Go figure. For the purpose of this exercise (I love how I'm attempting to sound official) we'll call him Armando. I've liked Armando for a VERY long time. Like, since last year. Well, I found out this week that my ex-boyfriend (for the purpose of this exercise, we'll call him Eduardo), has a new girlfriend. I'm very happy for Eduardo, but I can't help but be a little bit jealous. I mean, if he can get someone, why can't I??? Anyway, that has little to do with my foul mood today. My foul mood today is because I feel pretty much completely undesirable. Armando, who, as I've said I have a huge crush on, has a thing with another girl. For awhile, we were talking, nothing that even said he was interested in me, but we were talking, and I thought that was improvement. He acted like he wanted to be my friend. The only problem was that I want to be MORE than his friend. Today, I saw him walking down the hall with this other girl that he has a thing with, and he smiled at me. But he was walking down the hall with her. So he's obviously not the least bit interested in me. I'm just sad. I wish I had someone.

I gotta work. I'll post more later.
-Kylee

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Happy Valentines Day

Well, I didn't have a valentine today, but I'll say it anyway. Happy Valentine's day everyone! I hope those of you out there who do have a someone special have had a wonderful day. Today's message at church was awesome. It was about how Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice to love us, so we need to love with the kind of love he showed. I really want to do that. I don't want to be self centered and always focused on the way people treat me. I want to focus on the way I treat people. I really, truly, whole-heartedly want to love like Jesus loved. I'm attempting to read my Bible. I'm having problems with comprehending what I'm reading, but I'm trying. I'm working at it and asking God for help. I figure He can help me, even when no one else can. Nothing else is really going on. I'm going to make a big valentines heart for my wall, saying "Love people as Christ first loved Me!!". Just a reminder that I'm no different than anyone else, and that I need to love like Jesus did. It's kind of humbling, really.

Well, that's my thought for the day. Not much, but it's just what's on my mind. I need to go out in the world this week and commit to it with my words and actions.

Have a good week everyone! I'll post again soon!
~Kylee

Thursday, February 4, 2010

A Constant Battle

I've been battling my weight for as long as I can remember. Probably since I was 5, maybe even before. Last week, I weighed myself, and I've reached a whopping 320 pounds. I'm not saying this because I'm proud of it. I'm saying this because I need some accountability. I've ordered a book that I've alread read called "Skinny Chicks Don't Eat Salads". It's basically a program where you eat a small, balanced meal every 4 hours to keep your energy levels and metabolism up. This helps reduce sugar cravings and binging or overeating. My mother and I are starting this program as soon as the books come in. I really want to do it this time. I know I've said this before, but I mean it. Before I think I was just holding out until I am old enough to have a weight loss procedure done. Well, I may still have a weightloss procedure done, but until I'm old enough for it, I HAVE to do something. If I don't, I'm going to be 500 pounds by the time I reach the age where I can have surgery!! I'm not going to let that happen. I'm not going to sit back and watch it happen, like I have been. I need to start taking responsibility for some of my actions, starting with my eating. I'm posting this because my dashboard has told me that I have one follower, and like I said, I NEED THE ACCOUNTABILITY! Whoever that follower is, I thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Please continue! And feel free to mention my weightloss endeavor frequently if you feel like. Leave comments attached to the posts or something.

Wish me luck!!
Kylee